What to Wear…

So January is almost done and dusted, but I’m not closer to finding a tri suit to race in for this season!

I know…its hardly a life and death situation.  But c’mon, if you don’t look good, you don’t feel good right?

Choices are few and far between here in Singapore.  Ideally, I’d like to wear a 2 piece because they tend to be a bit more comfortable for the longer races.  However, I don’t use a speed suit, so the drag from the tri tops is always a concern.  I’ve used a bargain-bin Orca one piece tri suit the last 2 years and I really can’t complain.  It fits well and doesn’t get too hot under the sun but all my race photos sice 2010 have started to look the same so for vanity’s sake, it might be time for a change.

The more pressing matter is the same ol’ tale of how training has been struck by inconsistency.  Whether its work or being defeated by the tag team of my pillow & comforter, its been a challenge stringing together consecutive sessions.  And it is starting to annoy me.  The funny thing (not ha-ha funny) is that physically, I don’t feel as bad as I think should. 

I’m definitely not counting on good feelings to carry me through though.  No amount of optimism or wishful thinking is going to help me breeze through Aviva in a few weeks.  To show (myself) that I mean business, I’ve got my serious-training haircut (meaning I cut my hair instead of letting it look like I’m wearing a brush on my head) and have made big plans to shave my legs.  Nothing says “serious” like shaved legs!

The Super Sprint Series aquathlon is in 2 weeks and its amazing how a sense of dread regarding much its going to hurt adds a little more motivation to get your act together!

See you out there!

~ by triproject on January 28, 2012.

Leave a comment